This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now!
Community Search
ARCSA History & Background
Share |

History & Background

In 1994, Dr. Hari J. Krishna of Austin, Texas founded the 501(c)(3) non-profit American Rainwater Catchment Systems Association (ARCSA) to bring renewed attention to the ancient practice of rainwater harvesting. For thousands of years collecting rainwater was a common method for providing water, but over the last century, wells and municipal water supplies took over as primary water sources. The diminishing supply of fresh water in wells and aquifers, concerns of quality and population growth are among the top reasons for the resurgence of rainwater catchment.The American Rainwater Catchment Systems Association (ARCSA) was created to promote sustainable rainwater harvesting practices throughout the United States and the world.


Our top promotional efforts include: creating a favorable regulatory atmosphere, creating a resource pool and educating professionals and the general public regarding safe rainwater design, installation and maintenance practices. A board of nine directors steers the initiatives of ARCSA and is augmented by regional directors located in various parts of the United States as well as in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and Europe. Together these directors spearhead community outreach, conferences, workshops and membership promotion to raise awareness. 


Click here for access to ARCSA's Public Documents.


Being a worldwide organization, ARCSA funds a virtual hub at This cyber home offers the public a vast array of information and resources including a project gallery, workshop calendar, course agendas, professional location directory, and more. ARCSA is a membership-based organization whose benefits include access to leading news about the technology and advancements in rainwater catchment. The site establishes a forum for members to share and gain knowledge about the growing industry. Members include professionals working in city, state, and federal government, academia, manufacturers and suppliers of rainwater harvesting equipment, consultants, as well as backyard amateurs and other interested individuals.This grass-roots organization is on the leading edge of the rainwater harvesting industry. While the spotlight shines brightly on the issue of alternative energy and general sustainability, ARCSA is providing the much-needed expertise and standards to integrate rainwater harvesting back into a prominent role providing water for potable and nonpotable purposes.ARCSA is the first organization to create training and certification for professionals in the rainwater harvesting industry, and has created a suite of training products that can lead to "Accreditation” and our post-graduate level "Certified Professional” status.


Click here to learn more.ARCSA’s rapid growth is explained by an awakening that harvested rainwater can "…help solve potable, nonpotable, stormwater and energy challenges…” – the essence of our mission.


ARCSA's Board of Directors Past Presidents

  1. Dr. Hari J. Krishna, Austin, TX 1994-1999
  2. Dr. Dennis Lye, Cincinnati, OH 1999-2000
  3. Dr. Hari J. Krishna, Austin, TX 2000-2005
  4. Heather Kinkade, Phoenix, AZ 2005-2007
  5. Tim Pope, Friday Harbor, WA 2007-2009
  6. Bob Boulware, Indianapolis, IN 2009-2010
  7. John Hammerstrom, Tavernier, FL 2010-2011
  8. Bob Boulware, Indianapolis, IN 2011-2012
  9. David Crawford, Salem, VA 2012-2013

ARCSA's National Conferences
  1. Austin, Texas 2003
  2. Seattle, Washington 2005
  3. Hilo, Hawaii 2007
  4. Santa Monica, California 2008
  5. Atlanta, Georgia 2009
  6. Austin, Texas 2010
  7. Portland, Oregon 2011
  8. Raleigh, North Carolina 2012
  9. Austin, Texas 2013
  10. Phoenix, Arizona 2014
  11. Long Beach, California 2015
  12. Las Vegas, Nevada 2016

more Calendar

12/1/2020 » 12/2/2020
2020 Annual Conference

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal